Effective October 1, 2016 VIP punch cards are available for every $20 spent on full priced Clothing, Jewelry, and Accessories only.
Return Policy: All returns must be made within 7 days for In-Store Credit or Exchange of Size with receipt. All sales are final on swimwear, clearance, used, Gypsy Laundry, Vintage, Furniture and Antiques.
Come check us out on
the North West corner of the Centerville Square!
All about us...
The Gypsy Quarterwas first established in February of 2011. It opened its doors for the first time in a small 1600 square foot building located just off the Centerville Square District. Owner Julie Mihalovich wanted her boutique’s name to reflect the feeling of “you never know what you’ll find.” Just prior to the launch of her new business, Julie's daughter, Kelsey, had visited New Orleans and fallen in love with the quaint shops that lined the streets of The French Quarter. The ideas Kelsey brought from New Orleans helped Julie to create and name “The Gypsy Quarter.”
The original Gypsy Quarter at 218 East State Street was completely destroyed by a fire just 17 months after it opened. It took over 6 months to find a replacement building and get the business back on its feet. The second location for The Gypsy Quarter was on the Historic Centerville Square at 315 North 13th Street, just one block away from the original location. At this location, The Gypsy Quarter nearly doubled in retail space and was able to add another floor. For nearly three years The Gypsy Quarter operated from this address, during which time Julie brought on a new, younger partner, Stacy Walker. Together, they decided that The Gypsy Quarter needed additional space for the future growth and development of their retail business.
Now, at The Gypsy Quarter’s third location, building owner Stacy Walker has provided the business with over 10,000 square feet of retail space for the Gypsy Quarter to fully expand and show off all it has to offer. She purchased the building previously known as The Home Collection at 119 W. Van Buren Street in Centerville where The Gypsy Quarter is now located. Together, Stacy and Julie have completely restored the historic, three story structure to its full glory. Built for a total of $12,000 in 1881 by Henry Russell, the building was first known as the Russell Opera House. The authentic tin ceilings have been uncovered and, after much hard work, the beautiful, original hardwood floors are back in full use.
Stacy and Julie have over sixty years of combined retail experience and strive to make The Gypsy Quarter a destination store for both members of the community as well as visitors to the Centerville area. The Gypsy Quarter began in 2011 by selling juniors’ and women’s clothing as well as accessories and gift items, but have since added men’s and children’s clothing, home decor, and furniture. The Gypsy Quarter truly has something for everyone, and its friendly staff is always ready to help customers find just what they are looking for.
The Historic Square district is nearly full of eateries, whimsical shops, and fully restored buildings dating from the turn-of-the-century. Many locals as well as out-of-town visitors can enjoy a stay at one of our nearby lakes before making their way to the square for some retail therapy and great local cuisine. Make plans to visit The Gypsy Quarter while in Centerville. You won't be disappointed!
The Gypsy Quarter accepts: Visa, Master Card, and Debit Cards, and American dollars.
We do not accept checks.
Gift certificates are available in multiples of $5, $10, or $20. Stop in or call.
is located in the
Historic Valley Junction
317 5th Street
West Des Moines, IA
Hinge is owned and operated by